2021 Winner of the Manpei Suzuki International Prize for Diabetes Research

Gerald I.Shulman, MD, PhD, MACP, MACE, FRCP

Gerald I.Shulman, MD, PhD, MACP, MACE, FRCP

George R. Cowgill Professor of Physiological Chemistry
Professor of Medicine and Cellular & Molecular Physiology
Co-Director Yale Diabetes Research Center
Yale School of Medicine

Dr. Gerald I.Shulman will be awarded a Certificate of Honor, US$150,000 and a Japanese objet d’art on March, 2022. The award ceremony will be held on March, 2022.

The Selection Committee highly recognized his pioneering and extensive contribution over years leading to several paradigm shifts in our understanding of physiologic regulation of liver and muscle carbohydrate and fat metabolism in humans and its dysregulation in type 2 diabetes.

Dr. Gerald I.Shulman was therefore selected a Prize winner of this year.

~ 2021 Selection Committee Members ~
Dr. Takashi Kadowaki (Chairman)
President, Toranomon Hospital
Dr. Nobuya Inagaki
Professor and Chairman
Department of Diabetes, Endocrinology and Nutrition
Kyoto University Graduate School of Medicine
Dr. Makoto Daimon
Professor, Department of Endocrinology and Metabolism
Hirosaki University Graduate School of Medicine
Dr. Philipp E. Scherer
Professor, Department of Internal Medicine
Gifford O. Touchstone Jr. and Randolph G. Touchstone
Distinguished Chair in Diabetes Research
Director, Touchstone Diabetes Center
The University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center
Prof. Sir Stephen O’Rahilly
Director, Wellcome Trust-MRC Institute of Metabolic Science-Metabolic Research Institute  University of Cambridge
Head of Department of Clinical Biochemistry, University of Cambridge
Scientific Director, Cambridge NIHR Biomedical Research Centre
Honorary Consultant Physician, Addenbrooke’s Hospital, Cambridge