2019 Winner of the Manpei Suzuki International Prize for Diabetes Research

Stephan O’Rahilly, MD

Stephan O’Rahilly, MD

Professor of Clinical Biochemistry and Medicine, Department of Clinical Biochemistry, University of Cambridge
Co-Director, Wellcome-MRC Institute of Metabolic Science, Cambridge
Director, MRC Metabolic Diseases Unit, University of Cambridge

Dr. Stephen O’Rahilly will be awarded a Certificate of Honor, US$150,000 and a Japanese objet d’art at the award ceremony on March 4th, 2020.

The Selection Committee highly recognized his pioneering discoveries of the monogenic and polygenic accounts for human insulin resistance, obesity and type 2 diabetes, and of a new mechanism responding to nutritional stress, which provide novel insights into physiologic control of insulin sensitivity, carbohydrate and lipid metabolism, and energy balance, and also into diagnosis and treatment of diabetes.

Dr. Stephen O’Rahilly was therefore selected a Prize winner of this year.

~ 2019 Selection Committee Members ~
Dr. Hiroshi Yamamoto (Chairman)
President, Komatsu University
Dr. Toshihiko Yada
Director, Center for Integrative Physiology, Kansai Electric Power Medical Institute
Dr. Takashi Kadowaki
Project Professor, Graduate School of Medicine, The University of Tokyo
Full-time Visiting Professor, Mizonokuchi Hospital, Department of Medicine, Teikyo University
Dr. Jeffrey M .Friedman
Professor, Rockefeller University
Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute
Dr. Susumu Seino
Endowed Professor and Chair, Division of Molecular and Metabolic Medicine,
Department of Physiology and Cell Biology,
Kobe University Graduate School of Medicine